Everything You Need to Know About Dieting

Bariatric Bypass Surgery

Bariatric or Gastric Bypass surgery is the catch-all phrase for the different types of surgical procedures designed to treat obesity by altering the G.I. tract and consequently reducing the amount of food eaten and/or absorbed by the patient.

There are 3 main types of bariatric surgery

        1. Predominantly malabsorptive procedures
        2. Predominantly restrictive procedures
        3. Mixed procedures

In predominantly malabsorptive procedures, although they do reduce stomach size, the effectiveness of these procedures are derived mainly from creating a physiological condition of malabsorption….meaning you don’t absorb the nutrients & calories that you eat. There are three types of predominantly malabsorptive procedures…

        • Biliopancreatic diversion
        • Jejunoileal bypass
        • Endoluminal sleeve

In predominantly restrictive procedures, surgeons reduce oral intake by shrinking the physical size of your stomach, making you feel full with less food while leaving the alimentary canal in continuity, minimizing the risks of metabolic complications. There are five types of predominantly restrictive procedures…

        • Vertical banded gastroplasty
        • Adjustable gastric band
        • Sleeve gastrectomy
        • Intragastric balloon (gastric balloon)
        • Gastric plication

In mixed procedures, surgeons employ both the absorption and restriction techniques. There are three types of mixed procedures…

        • Gastric bypass surgery
        • Sleeve gastrectomy with duodenal switch
        • Implantable gastric stimulation

Next Page – Scientific Research…

Quick Nav

Like this article???

If you like this article, don’t forget to subscribe to @healthhabits. When you subscribe, my friends at MailChimp will make sure to send you an email every time I post something new here at the blog.

As well, you also get access to the series of Supplement Reports that I am publishing this year.

button subscribe